Poets logo

Walking in my shoes

Don’t judge someone’s choices

By Gwendolyn Farris - baldwinPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Walking in my shoes
Photo by Super Straho on Unsplash

Come on over and take a seat, fasten your seatbelt and come along for the ride.

There was a path I took at seventeen and that is when it all began.

Becoming a young mom which was not so bad. This little person so innocent and sweet, was counting on me with every heartbeat.

As the journey continued on baby number two came along, now mommy and daddy have to be really strong.

With two kids now by our side “oh man!” This is going to be a tough ride.

Watching the two of you grow we did not expect your bond to become so bold.

This now brings us to the time where this journey starts to get really scary.

There is a difficult decision that I had to make for baby number three I am hoping that it was not too late.

Giving you to someone new made mommy so sad it is true, but I knew that it was the best decision made for you.

Three years have now gone by which now brings us to baby four “oh my!”

Baby number four started out rough, so tiny it was tough.

I had classes that I had to take just to be able to bring you home.

You have a big sister and brother who just could not wait to be able to hold you every time you were awake.

This journey so far has been a lot for just a young couple who was just starting out.

Now it is time that mommy and daddy split apart but just know you kids made us happy from the very start.

The journey does not end there, now we are to the part where step daddy is near.

Now our family is becoming complete “but wait!” Now baby number five is coming into the scene.

So here we are still moving along with now a stepdad and half brother on board.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Gwendolyn Farris - baldwin

I am a mother of 4 children , I enjoy writing poems in my spare time. My goal is to become an author and have all of my poetry published in a book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.