Poets logo

Wake Up

And really look around

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
41

The pull of the cigarette smoke brings guilt and relief.

~

Just like any other addiction

the thought of polluting the most beautiful environment,

trying to accept that my body

is a beautiful environment

is another side effect of an ongoing story that is yet to have a predictable ending

~

When I thought of turning cigarette butts into coasters

the idea of protecting the ground,

the land

from more

began to let me justify a growing smoking habit

~

It’s not that it even made me feel any better

I suppose the action of pulling smoke from and into,

made me feel like I was making change

like I was moving the earth a little bit at a time

it made me feel less stagnant

~

But when I look out into the graveyard of natures growth

and all I see are weeds trying to cover the metal prongs sticking out,

the broken boards left untouched

and cement blocks meant to build something instead of squash the undergrowth

I begin to wonder

~

How many

would need to try just a little bit harder,

so that our earth could grow without dying so much

at the same time

at our own hands

Thank you to the land, the air, the water, the animals, for the life you give and tend to.

~

Poetry has always held a special place in my heart. It’s kept me together when I’ve wanted to fall apart. If you have enjoyed reading this poem, feel free to leave a heart or a even a tip, or check out another poem of mine below.

nature poetry
41

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was beautiful!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is excellent. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Love nature poems. Loving this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.