Poets logo

Waiting for the Plumber

A Poem

By Ollie BrocklehurstPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

water is rising on the bathroom floor

soaking into the white carpet of the bedroom making it dark, squishing between my toes as I run with armfuls of towel to try and dry this unimaginable mess up

all by myself

and I can’t get the water to stop, it is coming from the drains the toilet, the faucet, and the shower head-

it is the second biggest outpouring I have ever witnessed, but nothing could compare to the way I let myself gush from a wide open mouth

so much ink that there wasn’t enough paper in the entire house for the words to be put on, I inked them into my skin and they aren’t even all my own, just reminders of when I didn’t know

how to use my voice

lines and dashes and dots were the only way I could express everything that had been building in my pipes and the carpets are still the wrong shade,

people leap over the darkest spots when I let them inside because they aren’t sure of what the stains are

I still don’t know how to clean up myself, my once white carpets should be pulled and I would replace them with hardwood but therapy is so expensive that I’ll wait until the baseboards rot and then I’ll move out of the house

Waiting for the plumber

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Ollie Brocklehurst

Photograper | writer

Lover of Lavender and the colour yellow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.