Poets logo

Waiting for Rain

How broken trust can unravel the best of relationships

By Marilyn KettererPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Waiting for Rain
Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

Through a window we are perfect

And I like it that way

But behind closed doors a lot can change

I’m not saying that’s how we are

But I’ve been burned before

Now I’m always listening for storms

In a photo we are happy

And I’m glad to say

That if a picture is worth a thousand words

Then these are all true

But there’s thunder in the distance

I know that score

Because I’ve already lived through a storm

In reflections we are smiling

But I’m starting to fear

That if your lips are glazed in honey

There must be poison near

Because your tongue is silver

Each word a lie

And lightning strikes evermore

The closer we get to the storm

In videos we are laughing

No one around can tell

That your whispered sweet nothings

Toll like a death knell

Our world is crumbling

I guess I’m partially to blame

Because our spirits are dimming

Both our hearts equally torn

And now we’re living in the storm

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Marilyn Ketterer

I'm a college student minoring in creative writing. Currently my focus is my studies and building my career, but I'd love to one day write books and share my stories with a larger audience. Until then, I'll share my short stories on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.