Poets logo

Wait

Where do they hide?

By Brigitte BennetPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2
Wait
Photo by Mora Mitchell on Unsplash

Where did they go?

I spin wildly in circles, searching every dark corner I can make out in the dim light. Up, down, high, low, left, right. I can’t see them anywhere.

Run. I need to run. I know what will happen if I’m too slow. I drop my bag and sprint through the corridors as fast as I am able, carefully checking every dark place I pass in case that is where they wait – wait for some part of my wildly grasping hands to brush against them in my panic. In case that is where they lurk, waiting to bite coldly into my unsuspecting fingers as they clutch desperately for a lifeline.

Wait. Stop. I have come in a circle. I began in this room. That’s not possible, I’ve been everywhere, seen everywhere. They’re gone. They can’t be gone. I know they have not, CAN not leave this house alone. I cannot leave this house until I know they leave with me. But will I be too slow? It doesn’t matter. They are my only way away, and my only way back.

My mad dash begins again, and I-

Wait. Stop. I force myself to go slower, to think, to move through the house more carefully, to leave no dark corner unseen. Speed is the enemy of haste. Or is it vice versa? I stop in every room, checking carefully for any sign they might be there. Skulking unseen, just out of my sight, I somewhere I have not thought to look. Somewhere-

Wait. Stop. I remember something. Is it possible? I dash back to the first room, and find my discarded possession. I thrust my hands into the bag, throwing the other contents out onto the floor. My fingers touch something cold. Metallic. I grip onto it and pull it into the light. There they are! I curse my memory.

Keys firmly clutched in my hand, I sprint out the door, jump in the car, and shove the right key into the ignition as I check my watch. Not too late. I might still make it on time.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Brigitte Bennet

Writing first and foremost for fun, I've been dabbling in creative writing since childhood. Recently I've been working on developing two of my old novel ideas, as well as experimenting with writing a few shorter stories to improve my style.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Arbab2 years ago

    Nice poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.