Poets logo

Waffle

A poem about my grandmother who’s “sweet and cute as a waffle”

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
6
Waffle
Photo by Joyful on Unsplash

She's tiny as a gnome,

and her ears point out

like wands attached to her head.

She bobbles around

the little golden bunglow,

and cooks like a

chef in her miniature dollhouse.

Her hair is light like the sun ,

and is short as a spiky pixie.

Her body is covered in a

ballet slipper pink polo shirt,

beige chino shorts ,

and coconut white laced sneakers.

The floral aroma of

ylang ylang air tickles

my nostrils, as it travels to and from

her ivory painted living room.

Once I pass by her,

I collapse onto the leather mahogany couch,

drunk and stoned on sugar.

Her sweetness is contagious ,

and roams around like fairy dust.

It's like living in a fairy tale world,

with the legendary Grandma Waffle.

By Mae Mu on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read my poem about my grandmother. The term "Waffle" is not just a metaphor I use to describe her sweetness and personality, but also a nickname that I've had for her since I was a child. If you enjoyed reading this cute and entertaining poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others and please don't hesitate to send me a tip. Subscribe to me and view my public profile for more stories, poems and articles on a variety of splendid topics to keep you engaged! Follow and connect with me on Instagram and have a great rest of the week!

IG Account: @tdwrites24

This poem can also be found on AllPoetry!

By Dzmitry Tselabionak on Unsplash

surreal poetry
6

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    This one was very cute, enjoy! 😊👍

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Awww! She sounds absolutely adorable!! ❤️

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Splendid & delightful!!! Sweet!!! Loving it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.