Poets logo

"W" Words

Unanswered questions

By Dan R FowlerPublished 28 days ago 1 min read

“W” Words

It’s the “W” words that make me worry,

Those words that make my dreams scurry.

For they fill my day with apprehension,

And flood my nights with contemplation.

I learned of these words many years ago,

When a youthful life had me in tow.

From the morning until evening’s dying light,

I fought for all that I thought was right.

It’s the “W” words that assault me anew,

Each time I look or speak to some of you.

It’s the not knowing that severs the sinew,

No matter how hard I try to make things new.

It’s the “W” words that I have fought,

From the first hello making me distraught.

For some not to know the “W” words answers,

Turns their hopes and dreams into disasters.

It’s the “W” words that possess all the power,

To create worlds unending unattainable towers.

It’s the words that require some kind of response,

And a little less of people acting nonchalant.

For to tell a tale that will strike the right accord,

Takes fighting for answers with one’s soul out-poured.

But alas, it’s not to be so for this writer I’ve confessed,

For the answers I seek will never be addressed.

It’s the “W” words, why, who, what, when, and where,

That’s caused the author’s curiosity within me to flare.

It’s the journey of every character I’ve created,

To find the “W” words and the secrets some have hated.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran27 days ago

    Oooo, this was so relatable. Loved your poem!

  • Dear Dan, I just read your poem "W Words" and was struck by the depth and introspection woven into each line. Your exploration of the weight carried by words like "why, who, what, when, and where" resonated deeply, capturing the essence of curiosity and the struggle for understanding. The poignant reflection on the power of these words and their impact on our lives was beautifully articulated. Thank you for sharing this thought-provoking piece. Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Margaret Brennan28 days ago

    It certainly leaves many questions to be answered. This sounds like another poem to be written.

  • Ah lol! This is a different perspective! I think it is a challenge and you overcame it very well!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.