Poets logo

W.O.C.

Wardrobe of Color

By Olivia BrownPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

I don't wear many Black clothes.

Getting dressed, I am all the Black I need.

Otherwise, I'm a Woman of Color

W. O. C.

Yellow when I feel like a goddess, to make my skin glow in the Sun

If I'm feeling bolder, Orange is what I'll try on

Green to bring out my eyes or,

When I'm feeling spiritual, Green to open my heart for the day

I'm a W.O.C., W.oman o.f C.hartreuse to bring out my eyes too

Which is perfect when I need to bat my green eyes to get my way

Lavender when I miss my grandma, her favorite color I wear in her memory

Pink when I feel pretty and witty

My W.ardrobe o.f C.olor knows no boundaries

Teal when I feel expansive like the ocean

and Brown when I want to revel in the power of my last name

Sure, I have Black clothes

But they're not as fun

When I can wear the rainbow in my closet every day

Some will call me stylish, some won't understand

I wear color as resistance to a world working overtime to make me blend

So, I am all the Black I wear.

I am all the Black I need.

I'm a W.O.C.

My Wardrobe of Color knows no boundaries



inspirational

About the Creator

Olivia Brown

Essayist, poet, afrofuturist sci fi lover.

oliviajbrown.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Olivia BrownWritten by Olivia Brown

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.