Poets logo

wHAT'S uP?

Life- may be subject to change!

By Pamela Walsh-HoltePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

WHAT’S UP WITH MY LIFE?

There’s never a day without any strife!

My children, they scream, and they yell

and they put me through hell,

and nothing seems to ever go well!

I work and I strive just to survive.

My energies gone! No chance to revive!

I am so emotionally burnt, I can’t even cry,

I can’t get ahead no matter how hard I try.

All I want is our basic needs met

but trouble and bills are all that I get!

Seems just when I feel things might go my way

some twist of fate ruins my good day!

Once again it gets no better, it only gets worse,

I swear I’ve been burdened with some wicked curse!

I work all week long to come home to a mess,

then I bitch and I moan cuz I can’t take the stress!

My children, I’m sure, think I’m the witch from the west…

I’m so frazzled and tired and worn

they probably wish they had never been born!

You would think there’d be more from what I invest!

I know there is something that just is not right

no one can possibly lose every fight!

The odds at this point should be in my favor

my lucks got to change it can’t be bad forever!

So, I’ll try to keep up at this draining pace

hoping to somehow win this rat race!

I’m sure, if I gave up today and laid down and died

tomorrow would bring me my first free ride!

Only to prove the sheer stroke of my luck

It would most likely be in a broken-down truck!

My free ride!

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Pamela Walsh-Holte

Retired social worker seaking to find my name among the "Chreators we are Loving", but alas it has not been so. Be still my heart, do not despair, your day may come...Until then I wait, anticipating some, be it ever so slight, recognition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.