Poets logo

Void

sad poetry

By AsimPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Void
Photo by Alexis Fauvet on Unsplash

VOID

I lost a part of me a long time ago,

Gathered some broken bits with the space my hands could fit to fill the vacancy,

But it was never quite right,

I searched for a long time,

Tried every shape, every size,

Some I tired more than twice,

A few of those bits seemed to almost fit,

...Almost,

I clinged on to that hope until I was told it was not mine to hold,

And everytime I let go,

I seem to be losing a little more of myself.

I lost a part of me a long time ago,

It left a black hole of sorts in it's place,

All my dreams get sucked into this oblivion,

I've fought it long enough to know I can not win,

So I don't fight anymore.

I lost a part of me a long time ago,

It was only recently that I learned nothing was good enough for this void,

I taught myself how to exist without being whole,

This prominent emptiness at the center of me lasted so long I barely know it's presence,

...or absence,

Except in those spontaneous moments,

When I find darkness in places it shouldn't be found,

When I feel Pain at times I'm not supposed to,

I am reminded that I'm not quite alive,

That I'm not quite human just something that resembles it,

I'm reminded that there is an all consuming hole in my chest,

A hole Growing like a virus that can't stop,

How long can I be eaten up without thinning?

I lost a part of me a long time ago,

I doubt whether I'll ever get it back,

But I'm naive enough to keep trying.

~

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Asim

I'm writer, poet and blogger with many experiences and accolades.I started a career on vocal, i'm passionate to write poetry on vocal media.I'm committed to my work and believed in continuous struggle.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.