Poets logo

Voices

Take me or leave me, those were your choices

By Sherry Dee HadleyPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
The boy...

Take me or leave me, those were your choices; I told you before boy, I been hearing voices;

Sad you chose leaving cuz death can cause pain: clearly to pick this , you must be insane...

First come your whispers, they only annoy me, poison your food now ur only a toy to me...

You said “ stop the fighting” n I tried to appease you; used your own switchblade, see how I wanted to please you...

Ur mumbles grow louder.. still got that heart beating? Must end it soon now, won’t be no more cheating..

You stumbled and fell so my bullets they followed , but you gave em hell like the pride that I swallowed..

I can’t hear you yelling from under the water, that ghost that you’re begging was my only daughter...

No more laughing, pleading or crying ; you’re turning so blue , n it’s quite satisfying

Stop screaming my name like you’re justified, you tested and played me, now I get to hide you..

Stop all that fussin’ I warned I’d ignore you; this tape on your mouth is my lie curer for you ... .

I’ve already prepared my defenses, I loved him to death will appeal to their senses..

You having no empathy should get me their sympathy as I slink into court to claim my insane plea ;

Cutting off these? What’s it gonna hurt? I got nothing for you , you doubted my worth ..

On second thought, it is gonna matter; too much clean up for me with this nasty blood splatter.

Perhaps as you fade, you’re not feeling so wise, lost is that hateful gleam in your eyes.

Betrayal gets old and one things for sure, you miscalculated just what I’d endure ,

Why people can see you once you have coded , you’re looking so strange like your face is eroded ;

Funny people see you once dead or missin’ but when we’re alive, nobody will listen ..

Gazing down at your lifeless body, wonder will services be cheap or shoddy?

You taught me well about setting my stage, something I think you learned in a cage ; you always said to blend in so You won’t be suspected, this burial plot says you weren’t so protected

So it’s my turn now master, just how am I doin’? Didn’t think I’d let my whole life go to ruin?!

Fast forward baby, fake tears fall like rain;condolences, coffin; I caught on to your game ;

Walking away, friends Try to console me, still fakin’ my pain, you no longer control me, just left me your name..

So get one year in lockup for observation , thank you sweet baby for my needed vacation...

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Sherry Dee Hadley

Surviving the loss of my only child/best friend, Dee made me a warrior. Writing pours out onto paper space that’s crowding up my head; an outlet for my mental & physical pain. Rescue animals keep my heart beating. Enter at your own risk.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.