Poets logo

Voices

You! Between my ears, quiet, please.

By E. Scott - WriterPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’m not alone

Inside my head

In a babble of voices

Whispers Alfred

His quiet drone delivers

Lines with great meaning

Your life is reflected

In the eyes of dream beings

To strange looks on the train

I ask please explain

Exodus! Miracle!

A free seat pertained

Alfred dropped by

On the twelfth of July

As I waited in line

For the umpteenth time

I answered his question

Have you bathed in your aura?

The post office emptied

Faces full of horror

Alfred’s on vacation

Thelma’s moved in

She’s a gloomy dark rapper

Who loves Gunga Din

She likes to chant

Little black flowers in the sky

I’d join in but fear

Disapproving mad eyes

I dread those long days

When all has gone quiet

What are they doing?

Road-mapping a riot?

Silence is the maddening music of fear

Shot through with smoke trails

Of extinguishing years

Alfred has entered my bones and my throat

Their silence has broken

They’re building a boat!

This is not a boat

It’s a space ship

Again!

We’re ready for lift-off

Now countdown from ten

We’re terribly sorry

To be such a pain

But our launch path

Is straight through the middle of your brain

That’s not all

We need a blow-hole

In your skull

So be a dear won’t you

Find a sharp saw

Pain is humanity’s admission to heaven

Silence remind of future transgressions

With that they were gone

Tranquillity reins

If needs be

I still get a seat on the train

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

E. Scott - Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.