Poets logo

Voice in the Snow

Five Tankas #2

By Conor DarrallPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Voice in the Snow
Photo by Aditya Vyas on Unsplash

1

Music soars inside

The headphones, giving false hope

The true song will come.

I brain-wrack an aria

But the singer’s voice is dumb.

2

I clutch at coffee,

Nicotine to liven me,

Sugar for sharp wit,

My mood rides high, then crashes

Metaphors pass like dry shit.

3

My brain must be cursed,

With talent non-existent,

What a fool I’ve been.

To think that I can bewitch

Words to conjure worlds unseen.

4

The blank screen mocks me,

Blinding me with failure white,

Baffled thoughts come slow.

Try as I might, the pure voice

Mute in flurries of grey snow.

5

Patience is the key,

I’m told, by the successful,

Whose minds never stall.

I stare in the evening gloom.

Waiting for the voice’s call.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Conor Darrall

Short-stories, poetry and random scribblings. Irish traditional musician, sword student, draoi and strange egg. Bipolar/ADD. Currently querying my novel 'The Forgotten 47' - @conordarrall / www.conordarrall.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.