Poets logo

Vocabulary

In recognition of literary genius

By Miranda PutneyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
7
Photo by <a href="https://unsplash.com/@birminghammuseumstrust?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Birmingham Museums Trust</a> on <a href="https://unsplash.com/s/photos/shakespeare?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a>

When I'm struggling to find a word that fits,

That hits just right

I'll make one up, just like the greats did!

I'll make up nonsense names

And invent literary fame

Coin a word before its' time,

The way Dr. Seuss made-up nerd, just for a rhyme

Or Ol' William Shakespeare did swagger

And a thousand other weird words for that matter

The way Dawkins coined the word meme

Decades before it would come into its name

How Oates came up with workaholic

Or Dumas gifted us with the label for Feminist

The way Mark Twain gave new meaning to the word " hard- boiled"

Just like Tolkien invented the word tween

When I can't find the perfect words to convey

exactly what I need to say

I'll just make up the right trapes and hey,

maybe I too will be a famous writer someday!

art
7

About the Creator

Miranda Putney

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    Lovely! As writers we have the ability to influence language to make it fit our purpose. It's incredibly powerful and we need to exercise the highest responsibility. But if I need something to rhyme, screw it! Let's make up the damn word! 😆

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This was really clever and just a joy to read. And I love to make up words!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I love it! As writers we are all familiar with the feeling of trying so hard to find JUST the right word — love how you invent them! I’ve subscribed:)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is wonderfully cheerful and fun. Really well done.

  • I loved that , and a wonderful first read of your work, you have a subscription from me

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This was a fun and interesting read. Thank you for sharing your genius.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.