Poets logo

Vision

noun 1. the faculty or state of being able to see.

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Weasels Ate My Flesh - A shaver ad broke my mind

i have been watching

and even in the infinite

microsecond that i happened

to cast my gaze about me,

(i only wanted to truly SEE)

i have seen my smiles fade

i can see them drop

like a minor stroke side effect

now it’s a palsied grin at best

i used to like a lotta laughs

i see a semi mental limbo

my rubbery mind and that stick

trampolined senses bounce and stop

i see my thrills run away

avoiding me, shunning glee

up over away

they taunt from a far hill

i clearly see a bitter pill

then i take another

i have seen volcanoes

made of pure hate and rage

i witnessed a tsunami of sin

a conflagration of serendipitous

corrupted anomalies:

an adulterous view indeed

i have seen the twisted suns

i have seen weathered storms

i have seen the nights of no end

i have seen wounds

that won’t heal and mend

i have felt gouges

that purge, flay and rend

flames that don’t burn

curves that won’t turn

however fashioned

these fleeting juxtapositions

of form and beauty,

in grace and peace

BLINK

and now my ability to care

is being overloaded

ever so slowly

being eroded

chronologically negated

then neglected, abated

i’m shutting in

i’m shutting down

getting used to

these new walls

this old frown

i see all and i see nothing

and the appeal is so lost on me

yet this loss is epidemically felt

both on in and under my skins

slice me like a Lecter victim

a thousand cuts

a thousand

weeping

moist eyes

vision…

social commentarysurreal poetrysad poetry
1

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.