Poets logo

Visible joints

But invisible to me

By Shelby MundayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

As I sat out on the project that I’m about to describe for you all

I had no idea it would end up being a tale this fucking tall

We’ll start at the beginning, laying our first brick.

I laid them by myself you see, not the others whom I crossed paths with

I never entertained the thought, as I laid each one in place

Just exactly how bad it might feel, were I to fall upon my face

With each rock I moved, I gave up another inch

Until before I knew it, I’d dug myself a ditch

Layer upon layer of beautiful pieces, I continued to build up our wall

I built it up and up, filling cracks with memories and all

When I stood back to gaze upon a job I thought well done

To my surprise there was nothing but darkness all around, I’d lain every brick but one.

With no warning the walls wavered and shook around me, and in seconds they were but rubble

How did I make it to the end, to end up with nothing but trouble?

And I realize it was me myself, all this time looking back.

My own enemy, I’d sent out the attack

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.