Poets logo

Virtue of marriage

Virtue of marriage

By Marty WestPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

VIRTUE OF MARRIAGE

So you don’t want any whiskey tired of the pills

Your heart is full of sorrow your mind full of guilt

Your tired of the parties tired of staying out all night

You want to clear your mind to see what life is about

I will surely tell you how it is going to be

If you try to hide or run away from me

I can fill your days with terror your nights with fear

Wishing that one more time you had me near

You will go to your preacher and talk to a friend

You’ll think to yourself that this hell has got to end

Now isn’t it funny you trying to stop it all

When right from the start you were at my beck and call

So you’ve had your glory stayed away this long

Even tell your friends your fine nothings wrong

But we both know how you feel deep inside

Which way will you go only you can decide

They all seen that you’ve quit wish you the best

But I forgot to tell you you’ve got one more test

See your mind is full of guilt you know what I mean

I’ve made sure you’ve remembered it every lie every scene

If it wasn’t for me you know how lonely you’d been

When everybody else left you I was your only friend

Together we solved our problems got through any bad day

Went foward with our lives nothing stood in the way

And when people hurt you who was always there

Helped you through the night showed you who cared

The pain you would have suffered if I wasn’t there for you

And I know without a doubt you’ll be there for me to

Remember you gave me your soul your body your mind

And you know it’s true I can have you anytime

So one more drink that is all that it will take

Then again you’ll know who’s a friend and who’s fake

Marty West

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Marty West

Happily Married 58 years old

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.