Poets logo

Violets on Church Street

Electric Colour in the Sky

By sleepy draftsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
76
Violets on Church Street
Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

The asphalt glows

in technicolor.

Puddles of neon

drip

from storefronts;

Church St. has

turned into a

stretch of

pulsating

light.

I can feel

the city’s

heartbeat

beneath my feet.

I can feel your

pulse

against my skin.

I can feel.

Your lips glow

like violets

under the shades

of strobing

moonlight.

There are no cars, tonight

There is only stage

after stage

of dancing bodies,

colorful souls

who sing the

Body Electric

and give us permission

to scream along.

I sing so loudly that

you press your mouth against mine,

just to join in the song.

We have only just met

but fireworks

aren’t meant

to last forever.

Then again,

Pride

should last longer

than

a single night,

a single month,

a single person.

In the street

that beams

every color

reflected in the sky,

I am surrounded

by something larger than myself –

Something that came before myself –

Something that will live long beyond myself –

When I look up,

there are no stars tonight;

there is only

the moondust and glitter,

the echoes of howling

celebration.

When I look up,

the night sky is

a kaleidoscope of

rainbow-streaked galaxies.

I hold your hand and

sing along to songs about love

and I mean every single

colourful

word.

surreal poetry
76

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic3 months ago

    Oh gosh do I know this feeling! And on Church St too! Haha wow it’s such a vibrant otherworldly experience And then this line ugh “I sing so loudly that you press your mouth against mine, just to join in the song. “ ughhh

  • J. Delaney-Howe3 months ago

    I read this when you first published, read it again and I am so glad I can leave a comment. Awesome work. I really enjoy this poem.

  • ARC11 months ago

    Wow this is good. So much *feeling* in this... like it fills in the movement and the music. "Then again," ... this might have been my favorite moment. Your pivot in tone was so real here. Outstanding work on this entire piece, Em. Really well-done.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This poem is GORGEOUS. I super loved this part, "I can feel. Your lips glow like violets under the shades of strobing moonlight." This poem made me feel some kind of way. 🥰 Excellent work! I hearted and subscribed. :)

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Love this! (Also, I used the same image for one of mine!) 🌞

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.