Poets logo

Violet

Who gets to decide?

By AsiyaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
12
Indigo but Violet

“It is a Violet!”, The doctor says.

“It is an Indigo!”, The doctor says.

The doctor pulled me out to this world.

He declared my life sentence.

Why did he get to decide?

In a life of black and white, you only see Indigo and Violet.

What if I am a Violet in an Indigo’s body?

What if I am an Indigo in a Violet’s body?

Whatever you do not understand you label.

Whatever you do not accept you tolerate.

I was raised as an Indigo.

I see myself Violet.

I know myself Violet.

Father, would you see me as I am?

Mother, would you love me as I am?

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

Asiya

Asiya is my Sufi name given to me by Sherif Papa, my spiritual guide. I was born in Cairo, Egypt. I am a spoken word poet. I love writing short stories. Feel free to email

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.