Poets logo

Vietnam

Exploring a Young Soldier's Perspective...

By Natalie AndrusPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

I got drafted today.

They didn’t give me a choice,

And it feels so wrong.

This isn’t what I’d expected,

Guess I’m coming to Vietnam.

My brother got drafted today,

But he pretended there was something wrong,

This isn’t what I’d expected,

He’s not coming to Vietnam.

We found out the names of our enemies today,

They’re called the Viet Cong.

I don’t know what I’d expected,

Coming to Vietnam.

We killed innocent people today,

And it feels so wrong.

This isn’t what I’d expected,

Coming to Vietnam.

Our nation dropped a bomb on us today,

And it feels so wrong.

This isn’t what I’d expected,

Coming to Vietnam.

We bombed another nation today,

Trying to appear strong.

This isn’t what I’d expected,

Coming to Vietnam.

My mind is tormenting me,

But I have to stay strong.

This isn’t what I’d expected,

Coming to Vietnam.

I finally arrived home today.

They look at me like I’ve done something’ wrong.

This isn’t what I’d expected,

Coming from Vietnam.

My memories still haunt me,

I don’t think they’ll ever be gone.

This isn’t what I’d expected.

Coming from...

I’m lost in Vietnam.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Natalie Andrus

You might be wondering who I am. Don’t worry, I am too. Here’s a list of adjectives that have been applied to me: gay, anxious sarcastic, creative, feminist, saturnine, tired, liberal, dedicated, and overwhelmed. Do with that what you will.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.