Poets logo

Victim of an algorithm?

What’s a girl gotta do?

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
38
Victim of an algorithm?
Photo by Lee Jiyong on Unsplash

Maybe it’s the algorithms

maybe it’s the moon

maybe it’s the weather

Hell, maybe it's a mood.

*

I’ve written 53 stories

just under 800 reads

Someone tell me what I need to do

For vocals bonus, please!!

*

I love the stuff you’re writing

I’m commenting, leaving hearts

Pay 9.99 a month

Seems like I do my part.

*

I’ve written from my soul

Stretched myself on a challenge or two

But still no bonuses for me

Is this also happening to you

*

I tried reaching out in emails

I’ve sent 3 to be exact

I just don’t know what I’m missing

Not sure how I should react

*

Go on paying to be vocal +

Keep writing, waiting for word

That what I’m saying matters

If I’m even being heard

*

I hope this won’t sound bitter

I just wanna get it out

Cause more writing makes me better

Just want what I’m writing down, to count

*

So, if you have a little input

Something to help a sister out

Explain why some are getting bonuses

And others go without

slam poetry
38

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Keep on chugging along... We write for the love of creating.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Well written and still relatable two years later :)

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This poem is wonderful and really resonated with me! Well done.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous, absolutely fabulous!!!🥰

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Love it! Keep writing :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    haha. This is great. You tell 'em!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.