Poets logo

Vend-A-Baby

my dream for a baby

By Patti Marrs MagillPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Vend-a-baby

So many years trying and failing

Thrashing and flailing

Every month my ‘friend’ arrives

Every month I cross my eyes

Want to be pregnant so bad it seems

It seeps into every part of my dreams

Last Night in sleep I wandered down halls

Looked into doors, looked into stalls

At the end of the hall, I see

A vending machine calling to me

Corn chips and cookies and Baby Ruth

And B49 had a baby, for truth!

I pushed the buttons and waited to see

If a baby was really in the future for me

Put in my dollar, pushed B49

And an hour went by and I started to cry

Then suddenly the baby I had my eyes on to loot

Began to work its way to the chute

I reached and tenderly picked it up

It was so small it could fit in a cup

I put it in my pocket to keep it safe

(This is a dream) I am not insane

I brought it home to show to my kids

They looked at me like I was I was out of my wits

I brought it ought of my pocket to share

But a Baby Ruth was all that was there

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Patti Marrs Magill

Retired Corporate Flight Attendant, pursuing new careers in writing and education. I have 4 adult children, 6 grandchildren, and live in Central California. Currently I am taking on students to tutor in reading and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.