Poets logo

Unwritten

Finding Clarity Amidst the Confusion of Heartbreak

By ✨ Resilient Roots✨Published 2 months ago 1 min read
4

In a bustling city, bright lights aglow,

In Vegas, where dreams and sorrows flow,

Amidst a conference, where work took flight,

Love shattered, veiled by the desert night.

Once intertwined in a bond so strong,

Now torn apart, everything gone wrong.

In a hotel room, empty and still,

Heartache echoed, an unbearable chill.

1500 miles from where I belong,

Alone in anguish, my soul's song.

Promises broken, love turned to dust,

In this foreign land, betrayal's thrust.

Each passing moment, a dagger's twist,

In the silence, my heart does insist.

Unloved, abandoned, my spirit yearns,

For the love that faded, the passion burns.

Back home, the echoes of Vegas remain,

Ignored, neglected, I bear the pain.

Confusion reigns, in this shattered dream,

Left with nothing but a silent scream.

Alone in this journey, the road so steep,

Longing for solace, for dreams to keep.

Yet amidst the wreckage, I find my voice,

For within the ruins, I have a choice.

To rise from the ashes, to mend my soul,

To find my worth, to make myself whole.

Though the wounds run deep, I'll find my way,

Through the darkness, towards the light of day.

For love may falter, but I remain,

Stronger, braver, despite the pain.

In the aftermath, I'll rise above,

A phoenix reborn, in the arms of self-love.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

✨ Resilient Roots✨

As an adoptee, I'm sharing my journey to break the silence on adoption, celebrate resilience and foster connection on my path to belonging. My name is Resilient Roots.

Slight redirect with content because...heartbreak </3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Margaret Brennan2 months ago

    PERFECT... when my (1st) husband left, I bought myself a small gift: the 45rpm record of "I will survive". It became my mantra. Using that incentive, I worked hard and raised my two sons on my own. Yes, self-love and self-respect are the keys to survival. GREAT POEM ... LOVE IT.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.