Poets logo

Untitled Musings on Grief - part 1

A sonnet

By Kim LoostromPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
12

I can feel the glistening tear clinging

to the corner of my eye. A surprise

as I try to hold it back while sitting

at my desk. I continue to comprise

the email I was writing before I

was overwhelmed with memories of your

voice. It’s the feel of sun from a blue sky

but recalling this during a downpour

on a chilly autumn day. I don’t know

why I’m so overcome in this moment,

it’s been nine years and my therapy so

far has been helping with this component

of unprocessed grief. And yet, I still fear

listening to voicemails saved all these years.

sad poetry
12

About the Creator

Kim Loostrom

Writing for fun, I don’t have a niche!

Check out my instagram @thepresenttenseblog if you want to see all the content I’m putting out ☺️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 28 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Ameer Bibi28 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉🎉💐💐 for top story , a fascinating scene full of creative thoughts

  • Shit this hits hard very good 🌟

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    I found this really touching. Nice to have but I can understand your hesitancy.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    What a blessing to have those voicemails! I’m sure you’ll listen when you’re ready. It’s nice to know they are there.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.