Poets logo

Until Your Eyes Shift

Change the way you see it... for your own salvation

By MarquittaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Photo by Me, Modeling by Kali S.

For every time you

Destabilized my sense of reality

With grand suggestions

That my feelings were ridiculous

Or I was just a head case

I thank you

For I’ve learned to follow my truth

And wield it like a sword in this dark world

For every sexual comment

Or assault

That I can’t wash off of my body to this day

You gave me very visible scars

That I gave myself

In the absence of coping mechanisms and mental health

I feel gratitude within my heart

For you taught me how love isn’t

And should never be

Even in the darkest most desperate lonely nights

Where I prayed away my sorrows

And deranged thinking took life

You changed my existence wholly

In all your abuse and misuse

You created a survivor

And a champion fighter

I’m recruiting others like myself

We shall wake up the world

And discipline it

Heal it in our arms

And keep it safe from the likes of you

Whom karma has entirely different plans for

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Marquitta

I live in moments/ emotions/ words that come to me divinely, and anything that touches upon my penchant for insanity. LOVE Edgar Allan Poe, Horror, the Macabre, Clouds, Dreaming, the Psychedelic, the metaphysical/spiritual and MUCH MORE! <3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MarquittaWritten by Marquitta

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.