Poets logo

unspirited away

broken promise and a rant

By M.Published 2 months ago β€’ Updated 2 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
17

On the top of the mountain you promised

there was silence, the crickets wouldn't dare

[-]

ten thousands steps

ten thousands gates

your assistants smiled all the way

I followed in their paw-steps

[-]

Inari, you lied

you promised and you lied

I should've known better

than to trust in gods

[-]

On the top of the mountain you promised

to spirit me away

there was silence, the crickets wouldn't dare

spoil the moment

[-]

I could do devotion, I said

there's no end to what I could

you'd have to whisk me away

from internalized rejection

[-]

fucking do it,

turn my family into pigs

for all I care

fucking do it

take my name away

[-]

Any way the wind blows

heartbreaksurreal poetryFirst Draft
17

About the Creator

M.

Half-time writer, all time joker. M. Maponi specializes in speculative fiction, and speculates on the best way to get his shit together.

Author of "Reality and Contagion" and "Consultancy Blues"

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Eva Marie Chastain 16 days ago

    I loved loved fxng LOVED this. It made me want to climb a mountain/lock the door and binge watch Miyazaki flicks. ❀️

  • Such emotional imagery. Congratulations

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Fantasy and reality blended magically! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Betrayed by belief, so many steps and not rewarded. Congrats on TS!!

  • This is a heart warming story ! Congratulations on your top story !

  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    A warm wind blows down from the frozen peaks, carrying with it rage undying and yet hope unyielding. This was a great poem! Totally well deserving of Top Story! And btw, I love the cover image!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    There is so much anger blowing in that wind!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.