Poets logo

UNREQUITED LOVE

O rue my broken heart

By Len ShermanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Damsel, one summer eve, did I desire,

Thy red, coquettish lips and sparkly eyes

To kiss and pierce my heart with burning fire,

And quench my thirsty lust till my demise;

But maiden, since thee didst not love me true

Thy lowly humble servant for thine heart;

Won’t thy please make exception, not construe

These words, lest certain thy wish I depart.

Though summer fades to autumn’s fiery hues

And winter’s shroud of dazzling snowy gems

Succumbs to spring’s torrent of rave reviews

While Nature, her glorious stratagems

Cannot diminish beauty such as thine;

Which truly, in my heart, I held divine.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Len Sherman

I'm a published author/artist but tend to think of myself as a doodler\dabbler. I've sailed the NW Passage & wrote & illustrated a book, ARCTIC ODYSSEY. Currently, I live on 50 semi wilderness acres & see lots of wild critters in the yard.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.