Poets logo

Unrequited Love

An epistolary poem

By Stewart McIntyrePublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

My Dearest Sara,

I find myself in a state of perpetual longing for you, a melancholic yearning that pervades every fiber of my being. Your presence dominates my thoughts and feelings, and every moment spent in your company is a precious gift that I cherish above all else. And yet, I fear that my affection for you is unreciprocated, an unrequited love that remains veiled in ambiguity and obscurity.

I am beset by a multitude of emotions, ranging from joy and elation to fear and uncertainty. Your mere presence fills me with a sense of serenity that I have never known before, and your laughter echoes in my heart like a joyous symphony. Your smile, dear one, is a radiant beacon that illuminates my path, and your touch is a tender caress that sends shivers down my spine.

Since the day of our fateful encounter, I have been captivated by your beauty and your grace. Your eyes, the color of a deep and tranquil sea, hold a depth of wisdom and compassion that is truly awe-inspiring. Your voice, soft and melodic, is like the gentle rustle of leaves in the wind, and your laughter is like a cascade of sparkling diamonds, filling me with an ineffable warmth and joy.

And yet, I am plagued by doubts and uncertainties. I am haunted by the fear that my feelings for you are not reciprocated, that my love for you is but a vain and futile endeavor. I find myself lost in reverie, imagining a future where our hearts are united, where we walk hand in hand under a starry sky, where our souls are one.

But such fantasies are fleeting, ephemeral moments of respite from the anguish of unrequited love. The reality of the situation is stark and unforgiving, a harsh truth that I am forced to confront every time I look into your eyes.

And yet, despite all these doubts and uncertainties, I cannot help but cling to hope, to the belief that someday you will recognize the depth and sincerity of my affection. I pray that the scales may fall from your eyes, that you may see me as I truly am, a soul enraptured by your beauty and your grace.

For though the road ahead may be fraught with peril and uncertainty, my love for you shall endure, an unquenchable flame that burns bright and true. I shall hold these thoughts and sentiments close to my heart, cherishing them as a precious treasure, and seeking solace in the knowledge that my love for you is pure and true.

And so, my dearest beloved, I shall continue to love you from afar, cherishing every moment spent in your presence, and holding out hope that someday, somehow, our hearts may be united, and our souls may be one.

Yours forevermore,

Stewart

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Stewart McIntyre

Scottish. Loves horror and thriller novels. Exploring this writing lark to find out if I'm any good at it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.