Poets logo

Unreality

A Poem

By Melina GiorgalletouPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

In the mirage of a dream

I see kaleidoscopes of his face

that I now realize were caused by the tears he caused

from the moment I awoke.

There was nothing more devious

than the underhanded epitome of collaboration

between reality and dream.

My reality had succumbed into the limitless dream of

flying into the arms of a bird.

But that bird wasn't just a bird. It was a nightingale singing

in the form of a dragon, breathing fire full of melodies and poetry.

He was in control of my sleeping universe

and I had no desire to return.

Somehow being stuck into the burning pain of a fire

was better than wondering around the ice-cold sphere

they called Earth.

They blamed me for being in this state-of-mind.

Demanded me to find hope in this world

rather than sleep all day.

But what they don't know is that I have cracked the code of unreality.

I have mastered the secrets of the universe with my brain,

as I have the power, when I close my eyes, to enter into a limitless space of air,

and let myself drift off my cold body

and find my designated lover in the land of clouds.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melina Giorgalletou

Just a college student from Cyprus, living in NYC, trying to find herself through words and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.