Poets logo

Uniquely Detroit

A Collection of Love Poems to My Home

By Vagabond WritesPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

“When I think of home I can only think of Detroit. It's the place where I was born, where I was raised. It's a city that lives in infamy, yet is so well loved for what it brings to the world. Legends were born here, history was made here. Love it or hate is, Detroit is...”

My Home

Home for me are those Detroit streets

Those world famous Motown Beats

I fill the soles of legends with each step of my feet

"One thing you don't understand about my city is that it's poetry. Every broken and wonderful thing is part of a grand rhythmic rhyme scheme. It all fits together even in places it shouldn't. Never forget...”

My City is Poetry

Detroit is beautiful like poetry in motion

There’s always something to do, somewhere to go, some commotion

The Joe Louis Fist, The Spirit of Detroit, The Riverwalk: Downtown alone is worth exploration

If you go beyond that, beyond the presentation

What you’ll find is a city forged in fire and unity

Build on hard work, perseverance, and the automotive industry

You know us from the great music, and the legendary stars

For the soul touching styles that originated in our jazz clubs and bars

Detroit is a living creature that can’t be tamed

You challenge it, you get eaten, and have only yourself to blame

I love my city as all Detroiters do

Come for a visit, I think you’ll love it too

"What is a city without its people? The citizens of my hometown are simultaneously unique and diverse. No two are alike and yet they're all distinctly...

Detroiters

What is a Detroiter?

Is he a spry old man suit dressed to the 9’s, in his best gator skin shoes and feathered cap?

Is she a single mother working two jobs, who still finds time to read bedtime stories to her children?

Is it the young teen with no guidance roaming the streets, gun loaded, surviving the only way he was taught?

Is it the reformed criminal who’s given his life over to God?

Is it the grandmother who hosts every holiday dinner at her home, and ensures everyone in the neighborhood gets a plate?

Is it the women wrapped in skin tight bodysuits for a night on the town, or the hopeful men who await them adorned in Cartier buffs and sagging pants?

Is it the sports fanatic that wears a Lions' jersey any chance he gets, and whose truck has more sports team logos than mileage?

The gifted student? The aspiring rapper? The scammer? The playwright? The poet? The comedian? The boxer? The gangster? The priest?

What isn’t a Detroiter?

"Made in Detroit is more than something we put on product tags. It's a creed we live by. It's a badge of honor, a symbol of unity. No matter what part of the city we're all from we all know we're..."

Made In Detroit

Detroit born; Detroit Strong

You might only know of us from the violence, but you’d be wrong

See the Detroit Bad Boys are just misunderstood

Nobody really likes fighting, everybody just wants to protect their hood

But don’t get the narrative twisted, my city can join together and do some good

Perseverance and unity are some of our defining traits

We come together on holidays, festivals, and always for a sports tailgate

Contrary to popular belief our city is filled with love, not hate

Though I will admit if you’re not from here it’ll take some time to acclimate

Honestly the energy in my city is like no other

If the Pistons win the playoffs then everyone in the city is my brother

I swear the vibe can’t be replicated by another

Detroit Born

City of the battle worn

Detroit Strong

“You don’t really know a place until you’ve had their food. My home is filled with various unique tastes. Each a rare delight for the senses. Nowhere else can you find so many Coney Island Restaurants each with their own distinct menus and specialties. Come taste the...”

Flavors of Detroit

Better Made Chips

Everything is better made with Detroit craftsmanship

Ice cold Faygo

The building blocks of a Detroit childhood like Lego

Chili Cheese Fries and a Coney Dog

The best in the city, best in the state, best in the country, put that on any food blog

Uncle Ray’s

The ultimate corn chip snack on a summer’s day

The flavors of Detroit are so well defined

I’m proud to have tasted them all, and to call this city mine

"My home is a city of sports. Our champion bred teams are met with unyielding loyalty, whether they actually win championships or not. They're always champions in our hearts. If I'm rooting for any sports teams its definitely the..."

Lions, Tigers, and Pistons, Oh My

If we’re talking sports it’s the Lions, Tigers, and Red Wings

After ‘04 we’ve never given up on the Pistons, that’s just a Detroit thing

Our boys once played in The Palace like kings

Fingers adorned with championship rings

The Lions are our pride, rocking with them forever in our hearts

Blue jerseys out the moment our season starts

Those Tiger boys fresh out the jungle

Booking those season tickets early, no need to be humble

Red Wing victories made us Hockeytown, USA

Our boys winning Stanley Cups like they were trained by Gordon Bombay

Honestly I’m not even a big sports fan

I’m just showing love for my city whenever I can

"If you've heard of my city you've undoubtedly heard the outpour of negativity that surrounds it. We're a city that's constantly being criticized, mocked, and looked down upon. What those people don't understand is that my city is beautiful. Life breathes in every crack of this 'run down town'. They don't understand the people keep my city alive, and thriving. We wouldn't want to live anywhere else, and still they'll look on from the outside and call my home..."

Broken

They say my city is broken

They’re talking terrible cities, and Detroit is the token

Oh you’re from Detroit, but you’re so well spoken

Well here’s to hoping

One day you can see my home as more than downward sloping

Because truly we’re on the rise

It’s happening right before your eyes

Blink and you’ll miss it

The criticism, we dismiss it

Detroit is more than a statistic

On someone’s shit list

I’m bearing my soul, and you can bear witness

Detroit is the home of the fearless and gifted

You can get out the way or get with it

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Vagabond Writes

I sometimes write things. Currently eager to write more, and provide quality content. If you like my writing consider subscribing or pledging. Thanks for the support!

Also follow my Instagram @Vagabond_Writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.