Poets logo

Unfinished

A poem about the forgotten

By Serenity ZahnlePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Unfinished
Photo by Abbie Bernet on Unsplash

What is it like,

To leave something unfinished?

When something you enjoyed,

Was just left forgotten.

Sometimes,

It’s the little things.

That book you never finished

That movie you left half watched

The assignment you never turned in.

Over time,

These little things add up.

Why am I so forgetful?

Why do I never finish anything?

Why are my grades so low?

At the very end,

Every excuse we make,

Propels us towards self isolation.

As empty promises scatter across,

Your very existence.

What is the answer,

To leaving things unfinished?

I wish…

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Serenity Zahnle

I'm a transgender otherkin poet. I hope to meet new people and talk about poetry. I used to post my poetry on deviantart, here's a link https://www.deviantart.com/ssserenity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.