Poets logo

Unfiltered

The Update to "I woman, I Tori"

By Vaisa HailePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2
An unedited recent selfie

I am Vaisa

Vaisa is who I have always been

Tori was a filter

An Alias

A mask that others put on my face

I am woman

A lesbian

I am out again

I am kind

I am genuine

I am of flesh and scars

I am made of mistake and luck

I am made of the stars I long for

I am made of the nights I lie awake

And the days I stare ahead

I am the twilight that breathes shakily

I am of pill bottles emptied

And shoulder-shaking sobs

I am of raucous laughs

And many self truths

I am ever changing

Non-linear evolution of the self

I am bright as Vega

Loud like Nico Vega

I listen like a bird for calls

Waiting for the fall

Wading through trauma

I am tired of standing tall

I am tired of fighting

I am genuine but at what cost?

I am unfiltered,

But I still feel lost.

One thing I am sure of,

is not where I'll end up

but Who I Am.

I am Vaisa.

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Vaisa Haile

I've been writing poetry since 6th grade. I write very short stories from time to time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C.S LEWIS9 months ago

    great job Join my friends and read what I have just prepared for you I am sure you will like it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.