Poets logo

Unerasable

Even Dreams Come True...

By D.P. MartinPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I didn’t ask for it

That moment you walked in

I was relishing my coffee

Piping hot in the late fall cold

A trying day of work behind me

Anonymous and young and alone

.

Small orange table wiped clean by napkins

How could I have ever known

The fate striding in with the whoosh of a vestibule door

.

I didn’t ask to be stolen the way I was

Filled

That moment

The girl with long black hair

And hugging blue jeans

My name, my breath

Forgotten in amazement

Arrythmia

To Hope, to Dream

.

Close your eyes, now

Close them.

Close them.

.

Now the vestibule is no longer there

Nor the little orange table

Nor the young man

The bluejeaned girl with impossibly black hair distant now

Thirty years

A mere visit in my life

I cannot forget, though how I’ve tried

.

I didn’t ask for it

That moment

The hope which for a while came true

That moment I saw you

And for a miraculous while thereafter wherein I

Learned the smell of your hair

And the sound of your laugh

Before quietly the moment ended

With a simple understanding

And a softly spoken goodbye.

.

I didn’t ask for it

That moment

That unerasable moment

But wherever you are

You’ll never know how many prayers I’ve spoken with your name in them

How grateful that young man grown old has been

To know the joy

In remembering the smell of your hair

The sound of your laugh

And even the precious chance to softly say goodbye.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

D.P. Martin

D.P. Martin began writing a first novel in third grade - and had it survived mom's cleaning habit, it would certainly have been a number one best seller. D.P. calls New Hampshire home, raising one son and three hyperactive cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.