Poets logo

Undress Me

a contemplation about writing poetry about trauma

By R.C. TaylorPublished about a year ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
6
Undress Me
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Writing poetry about my trauma

sometimes feels like all I'm doing

in this sweltering heat

is dressing up my emotions,

bundling them in layers of

itchy, pretty word sweaters,

and heavy metaphor coats,

fiddling with lost-in-communication buttons

that don’t quite fit,

and taking the scarves of similes

and wrapping the wool

around their heads–

mouth,

nose,

eyes,

hair–

until they can’t see or be seen anymore.

I imagine that they are crying out,

“Please,"

"Please."

"Undress me”.

__________________________________________________

Thank you for reading!

Honorable Mention in Real Poetic's Mini Contest!

If you're interested in checking out my chapbook, Cognitive Dissonance, you can order a physical copy and/or PDF using the link below:

https://forms.gle/D3hcdQ6jdh67GuvL7

Not sure if you want to buy? Check out this lovely review of my book by fellow Vocalite Donna Renee:

Thank you!

heartbreaksurreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetry
6

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

Part-time daydreamer. Full-time dork.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. adventure, nostalgia, and other affairs of the heart, and anything else I want to honor and hold space for).

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 9 months ago

    This is so relatable and beautifully written. I love it and congrats on placing in the challenge

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    I love the metaphor!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Deeply contemplative and heartfelt. I definitely see a Top Story. Excellent poetic expression of what trauma feels like.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.