Poets logo

Under the Martian Cloud

Poem

By Sophie Wakefield Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Under the Martian Cloud
Photo by Nicolas Lobos on Unsplash

When I was wondering in a dream

not unlike reality

I sauntered like an Elfin Fairy

Through a nearby golden forest.

And in the moment of turning left -

for all nightmares begin

when dreams diverge from the path -

I saw an opening into some other world:

a world defined by red.

I stepped on a forbidden rock as I entered

the causeway.

how was I to know it was impermissable?

And Suddenly, a cream pie walked towards me.

It looked delicious - not unlike a Sunday

Afternoon desert made by a trusting family.

Yet as it came closer to my feet at the rock -

It melted by the heat of the sun

that scorched this world a dark, morbid red:

it melted and morphed into some winged creature

with talons

and fangs

and sweet coloured, bloody eyes.

With its left claw it grabbed my right arm

and up

up

up

towards these martian clouds

it took me into the clear orange sky.

Fear was of course within me -

for nothing is more real

than a dream to a body lost

in temporality.

And so this creature took me through the sky

into a storm

that seemed to inhabit the upper levels

of this world above.

And my god - were there some strange things

in this place.

Gobblins cloaked in smiles

Satanic verses soacked in sugar

Beauty screaming in agony.

What a strange place this was.

The creature flipped my body and with my arms

forced me to behold this new world from above.

I looked at all these carnivores

consuming eachother - skin by skin

in the planet drenched in polluted love

and indulged pride - with a dash of hate.

And down I was thrown on to this planet.

through the smoggy atmosphere and into

a plastic sea.

Can I wake up now?

By Dustan Woodhouse on Unsplash

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Sophie Wakefield

Attempting to monetise my Bachelor of Arts degree (majoring in Old English).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.