Poets logo

Under Blankets of Snow

A Poem

By Calliope BriarPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Under Blankets of Snow
Photo by Damian McCoig on Unsplash

Drafts from the thin walls of an ancient house

leave a chill in the air while I

watch snow fall outside the window, coating

branches of bare trees.

A thick blanket is over my legs,

my dog curls up beside me on the couch

content to look at the world outside with

his big brown eyes.

I inhale the spiced scent of chai tea

sweetened with soy milk and sprinkled

cinnamon. There's no fire crackling since

I've never lived in a home with a fireplace,

but the silence suits me just as well.

In these moments, childhood memories

overlap with my present life as an adult to

create a realm of comfortable nostalgia

that I never want to leave.

surreal poetryvintage
1

About the Creator

Calliope Briar

A lifelong writer with a creative writing degree.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.