Poets logo

Under A Fool's Moon

Methamphetamine's Delusional Intrusions. . ..

By Michelyne AnnPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
view of bed from the floor

Under A Fool's Moon



Mr. Quartermaine was mumbling to me or us or to himself

while I was trying to follow him

In the penthouse lit by an iced moonlight

My best friend was tip-toeing near and far and side to side

while her rounded eyes buggered wide,

refusing to participate or entertain his notions, eluding all his senile motions. . .and he wandered about his? our? home without a place to sit

while I was trying to intuit her to gaze at me to calm her fears in the middle of the night

In the penthouse lit by an iced moonlight

And my lover, and his fidora, and unwashed stringy hair, and worn-out tennies

sat motionless on the stairs

filmed himself and her and us while i tried to follow his direction,

holding up an unnecessary lantern, jutting here then over there,

basking all but nothing for reflection

in the vacant living room of the penthouse

lit by a cracked and iced-up honey-of-a-moon

We set our hearts ablazing

My God, we felt amazing

The neighbors heard our raucousness

and popped up so they could dine with us

refilling all our wine glasses with joyous memories (or the one?) of the times

(or the one?) we dined and sang around the guitars and pianos

before ambulance and police sirens muted us into echoes

and I tried to fetch us all some food

But I was cold from being nude

I forgot I had to cook it first

And laughter filled the air out there

(at me? or my insanity?)

While I was here

Without a spoon or a skillet

in the pale moonlight freezing under an iced moonlight

feeling the tides bending our? my? his? whose?foundation

the balcony swayed back and forth like a metronome in A-dá. . .g-iohhh, and uP . . .

and Down. . .and bacK

to inevitable earth,

inevitably evicting us from our self appointed folly

And before my eyes could comfortably take in the scenery of my bed’s cliffed edge

from the cold floor’s vantage point. . .again. . .

my eyes opened during the descent,

wondering how many times did I tempt the deadly demon, Gravity, to eat me alive (whoahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh)

grateful I landed on my ass. . . and not my head

waking from illusions of everything that never was

in the middle of the night

a Fool's moonlight.

surreal poetryTabooSecretsBad habits
Like

About the Creator

Michelyne Ann

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.