Poets logo

Undecided.

A young girl and fear.

By Blue RiverPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

Could time just stop?! I'm not ready yet.

You need to decide. You've waited long enough. Time waits for no one.

Yeah, I know.

Coward.

I'm not a coward. I'm just... undecided.

Pitiful.

...

Which was wrong? Which was right? What was the right decision? It felt like her gut was twisting and turning when she was coming close.

Hot...hotter...wait, no, stop!

It will be too real. Like her life will no longer be hers and it will be the world's once she decides.

No longer will she have mentors to help her. No longer will she have family close to guide her, comfort her. Show her the way and what to do to gain the most out of things. Following. Their. Advice.

And just like that.

"Individual". "Mature". "Adult".

It was expected of her to know who she was. It was expected of her to know who she wanted to be. What made her passionate or happy.

How am I supposed to decide!? Do I have no sense of who I am!? Maybe not, but I've been trying so hard to figure it out.

Not hard enough.

That's not true. I have tried.

Look around you, girl! Do you see them undecided!?

No. They are not. But--

No, no "but's". It's time you grew up.

She is silenced.

Wait.

Could this be why?

It was this. This whole time.

HEY! You. It's okay if I am undecided at times. And it is okay to feel this way. Who can blame me for taking my life seriously? Huh? From now on, you will be present but you will have little say when I'm making decisions. It is not okay for you to make me scared, hurt, or be harassing me. You will not take my life in your wicked hands and make me scared of living it.

...All right.

Minutes, hours, days go by. She's been preparing. She knew she had to decide. And soon. She felt overwhelmed by the possibilities. But as overwhelming as they may be, she was grateful for them now. She was grateful for what the future and its wonders held. How she will change for the better. She was empowered and strong.

She was ready.

She was decided.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Blue River

Hi! I enjoy writing. I admire its ability to organize thoughts on paper. I just try to do a little 'bippity boppity boo' to make it special. Haha. Thanks for stopping by! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.