Poets logo

Unconventionally, Me

Ummm...

By Joseph Shawn JohnsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Unconventionally, Me
Photo by Steve Halama on Unsplash

Since you fail to tell the correct stor-E-e-excuse me, but there's a Y.

I'll love me like you never have before, said I.

Like it's my only option. ..

Your love was displayed by a caption.

My love was going through hell and back for you, but guess I was caught in the rapture.

I don't need a baker to bake me a cake, only to set fire to the rafters.

Don't doubt what's real, each tear I shed stands for every lesson, blessing & unavoidable disaster.

Don't tell me you love me unconditionally, when your love never came to ME, even AFTER.

You said your love WAS unconditional, I guess NOW it's inhibited.

Although I do thank you for showing me that MY vision was limited.

Trying to take all that I had, with that went my blinders, now I can't help but to see I AM LOVE UNINHIBITED.

Since I only had I's for you, loving myself, makes me NOW relentless.

Before I let go, remember that once upon a time and somewhere over the rainbow, you once had forgiveness.

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Joseph Shawn Johnson

Freelancer Writer and single father. Raising a very beautiful, talented, creative and artistic 13 year old daughter. Expressing myself artistically through a wide range of spoken word, music, poetry and many other forms of creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.