Poets logo

Uncommon in the Mind

Trigger warning: substance use, abuse and mental health issues ahead...

By Latoya Giles Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Uncommon...rare. How rare? Uncommonly rare like a crystal stair, a pig flying in air. Wait, that one is not rare, it is impossible. Completely impossible I say.

OK. Something rare. Let me think for a second or two to let my mind sift through all of the information in there.

Mental health, rather mental defects I think they are called, intrigues me a great deal. A rare diagnosis will be the subject here. Multiple personalities. Dissociative Identity Disorder now. More than one person inside a mind. This usually starts off with a subject "losing" time. He learns of people that know him and even call him a friend. She looks in her closet and new clothing she sees. Different sizes, genders AND style aesthetics? "Whose clothes are these?!?!"

Denial is always first. Starting to make up excuses to rationalize these odd things away. Now you hear voices? "What did you say?"

The personalities clash, so a dominant one emerges to maintain the order and establish some boundaries and rules. "Everyone be cool, there is more than enough room for all of you."

A psychiatric evaluation marks the visible acknowledgement of the "issue", a starting point of healing and treatment if you will. The doctor asks about your life, "any trauma perhaps?"

"What? How he know our dad relapsed? That he spent all the house money and disappeared, only to overdose?" The doctor tells us the personalities formed for my protection. They deal with life in an effort to shield me. When mom raises her hand or dad drops his pipe, the alternate egos switch me off so they can effectively handle the flight or fight.

Treatment can mend the mind, make the several beings into one being again. Like a human puzzle. "Is that what you want? We have all gotten close, I now call them my friends. A decision needs to made, I will make it eventually, not today...

My "brain people" and I go on our merry way. For now, I willingly take a back seat to them, and do what they say. They saved me, I think. My invisible protectors may be here to stay. My silent secret. SHHHHH. My uncommon, my rare....

heartbreaksurreal poetrysad poetryinspirationalfact or fictionart
Like

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.