Poets logo

Uncomfortable

my body, my choice

By Nicholle MichellePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Uncomfortable
Photo by Romina Farías on Unsplash

If I was on a date, and I felt uncomfortable

Would you expect me to stay?

If I had a condition, and the treatment was iffy

Would you tell me to get it anyway?

If I'd lost trust in the pillars of society

Would you say it's my fault I'm uncomfortable?

Am I not allowed to refuse consent

Because you think my choice is "political"?

I am free to say NO to whatever I choose

This is still my body, all I've got left to lose

Your judgements of me say more about you

Sorry to say it, but it's totally true

You can't change my mind

Through peer pressure or shame

Do what's best for you

I'm not playing this game

I respect your choices

I'd expect the same

Just because we are different

Doesn't mean I'm insane

I'm not a bad person

Just because I won't fall in line

But it seems something

Has warped the minds

Of everyone who thinks it's their place

To steer my vessel

To an uncomfortable space

If I lose relationships over this

Then perhaps they never did exist

Cause I've not bullied or attacked

Anyone with an ounce of flak

Because that's not the way

To show you care

Those feelings and actions

Come from despair

I make no decisions out of fear

I'll let opportunities pass by

If they seem unclear

Your decision isn't the problem dear,

It's how you're treating others

That's grinding my gears

Do I need to go on?

Or should we just leave it here?

Copyright © Nicholle Michelle, 2021

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.