Poets logo

Unchain Us, Please

Belle's June Unofficial Challenge

By Shirley BelkPublished 18 days ago 2 min read
Break Free

Objective: Write a story that includes, at some point, the sentence, "I did what I had to do."

Regrets? I have many, of course. But I have no time to feel indebted to them...the regrets. They can be quite demanding of a person's soul and purpose, after all. I don't mind paying my dues, but I won't be cheated out of living. I simply won't allow that.

And some people get outraged because of the audacity I have to continue on. I suppose they would be happy if I wallowed in a tangled wad of woe. Some don't want an apology...they just want to see you eternally punished, imprisoned in a tomb of remorse. Don't come at me with that! I don't play that game.

I will feel remorse and offer a sincere heart of repentance. My mistakes and choices never came from any malice. But once I have extended my heart and faced the fact that I have had some degree of responsibility in your discontent, don't expect me to allow you to dwell there and take me down. That wouldn't be healthy for either of us. Please don't use me as a crutch.

I do want your forgiveness. I do value you. I wish I had not harmed your feelings, heart, or your soul. All I can promise you is to not repeat whatever it is that I did or did not do. I mostly want your forgiveness so that you can heal. Seeing you wounded or feeling betrayed has already killed part of me. I am trying to heal, as well.

Life and relationships don't come with guarantees, though. I've never been good at chess. Sometimes, I don't know the hidden snares behind the "next moves" I've taken in life. I just did what I had to do. Regretfully, those moves have hurt you. I wish that I had swallowed that poison and not you...or at least realized that you had been exposed to the vileness it brought. My sin and your collateral damage. And now, the moves have almost played out for us. Is it too late? I hope not, I really hope not!

But do what you need to do, what you have to do...just as I did. But have more insight from the lack of mine. May your regrets be forgiven, though.

Mental HealthStream of ConsciousnessStream of Consciousnesshumanity

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Robyn Petersona day ago

    I’m at a loss for words, you have written a beautiful piece. Thank you for your ability to creatively write .

  • Novel Allen10 days ago

    I never saw that challenge, wow, you really did a number of that person. But, you know what, you did what you had to do. I totally get it.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 days ago

    This is wonderful storytelling Shirley!

  • Babs Iverson11 days ago

    Super storytelling!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • D.K. Shepard18 days ago

    Great use of the challenge line! “ I wish that I had swallowed that poison and not you” was a powerful line

  • Oh wow, this was so relatable. I've been in this situation before but I didn't handle it as well as they did here. Loved your take on this challenge!

  • Lana V Lynx18 days ago

    Perfect. This is like a life credo of a mature person.

  • Andrea Corwin 18 days ago

    No time to be indebted to regrets - fantastic! Nice job on this unofficial challenge.❤️

  • jameel Nawaz18 days ago

    Beautiful content.

  • A great take on the challenge

  • Rachel Deeming18 days ago

    Excellent, Shirley. " tangled wad of woe" - great line!

Shirley BelkWritten by Shirley Belk

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.