Poets logo

Unborn Not yet Known

Yet I Know Myself

By Fen TapiwaPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
You were once here.

A silent letter from the unborn child

Dear world how are you

Oh how I long to open my eyes

For the first time and see you

I wonder what you have in store for me

When I enter into this magnificent ball

Caught in-between of should I stay where I am

Or come running to a world that is longing to hold me

With arms that are much softer than a cotton ball

I wonder how best I can come prepared for things awaits

I hope it's a world where you just have to teach me

How you lived rather than pass me your predicaments

If all I have is predictions waiting for me to hear

Then I know I have to be much prepared

Because you are handing me a world you have never lived

I hope it's not a world that's slowly dying

because of the choices you made

Which raises the question do you have me in mind

When you put all your decisions together

World if you are already broken

will you get better for my sake

If not maybe I should stay where I am

And watch you from a distance

But then again I have to walk into my future

Maybe I'm the one to remind you

What it's like where we came from

I hope when you see my smile for the first time

You will smile back like nature did in your early years

Where I am is peaceful and that's all I will bring as I grow

I hope you will teach me all I need to know to keep the peace

As I remind you of what peace is like

Because the world is you and me.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Fen Tapiwa

As the world rotates you are in it, it’s not by chance but for a reason. There is only one world and there is only one you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.