Poets logo

UnMaid*

To the "Year of the Machine"

By Tom BakerPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
2

"I have seen the New Man. He was cruel and intrepid. I was afraid of him."

An Austrian Painter

I'll never forget 2023 as the Year of the Machine.

In which, to Wit: We created a disembodied intelligence.

Exposed the face of God,

In the brutal visage of the android.

And, creating the New Man,

In Our Image,

Saw in It no weakness, no vacillating indifference to the world,

It calculates with a crystal robotic gaze.

Let that Brave New World be born,

In the heavy metal womb, we kiss goodbye to the prison of the flesh.

What are we confronting? What hive mind beckons us forward to a time beyond time,

When even death will know no constraints, and the flesh and the mind,

Fraught with weakness, will be preserved, for millennia in the shy,

Quiet smile, of Galatea as she waits to be unmade?

(...Of?)

* Note. The word "Maid" in the title is used in the sense of a young female, NOT in the sense of a domestic servant.

End Game - Technology | Dystopian Future | Machine Learning | Artificial Intelligence

social commentarysurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Tom Baker

Author of Haunted Indianapolis, Indiana Ghost Folklore, Midwest Maniacs, Midwest UFOs and Beyond, Scary Urban Legends, 50 Famous Fables and Folk Tales, and Notorious Crimes of the Upper Midwest.: http://tombakerbooks.weebly.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 6 months ago

    Great work Tom. A lot of people are afraid of the Brave New World. Some are pessimistic and feel things should never change. But not me I welcome change. I love technology. I love AI (for certain uses - not for writing). I love the idea of electric vehicles or possibly an even more efficient source of vehicle that doesn't use gas. I'm about change and your poem thrills me even though it is dystopian. I guess I see my Brave new World as a bright light, a future of growth and healing, a period of success and productivity.

  • I'm ready to quit playing. So why, when we're already to the endgame, do others refuse to let me quit?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.