Poets logo

.ULTRAVIOLET.

By Khalif J. Gillett

By khalif J. GillettPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

The color purple is meant to be a calming color

Mixing the fiery passion of red

With the calm cooling sensation of blue

It is a color that is used to soothe the mind

And even represents some forms of mental health

Violet is the color at the end of the visible spectrum of light between blue and the invisible ultraviolet

So what happens when this invisible color is not present in the mind?

Things can get sort of chaotic don’t you think?

When I was a kid

My mind would race

Whenever I wanted to think something my mind would have to go through every part of speech

When saying something so simple like:

“I've had my heart broken more times than I'd like to admit.”

Is what the sentence should sound like:

“I've had my heart broken more times than I'd like to admit.”

But instead my mind would go something like:

I’ve, you've, they've we've had my, our, your, their heart broken

More times than I, she, he, you, they would like to admit

And maybe it’s, that's, this is self-harm

Maybe I, she, he, you, they broke it myself, herself, their self, your self

Because of fantasies

Sundance films

Music

My, your, their, our obsessively-compulsive mind

Or just expectations

But I’ve, we've, you've, they've more or less found ways to bounce back

But once in particular

My, her, his, your, their heart broke during a summer

And it, that, this shattered

The pieces were unrecognizable

Like putting together a million piece puzzle

Without a box as reference

I, you, they tried to put myself, herself, himself, yourself, their self back together

Therapy

Solitude

Venting

Lust

Breaking glass

When none of those, these, it worked

I, me, he, she, you, they tried denying it, that, this

Maybe sad and angry were my, his, her, your, their new normal

A friend of...mine...didn’t like the change

And told me, “I miss you before this summer happened to you.”

She told me, “I miss you before this summer happened to you.”

I heard, “I miss you before this summer happened to you.”

I quote, “I miss you before this summer happened to you.”

I don’t know how to respond to that

I didn’t know how to respond to that

How would, should, could

He, she, me, you, they

Respond to it, that, this

“Me too.”

That’s all I could think to say

“Me too.”

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.