Poets logo

u n b o u n d

stream of consciousness

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
24
u n b o u n d
Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

I recommend a moment to linger with this song before beginning the poem.

when

my body

wilts from this

existence i will return

to thee released into the wind

as my essence flutters

riding the wild

breeze

song of

the blackbird

will carry my heart over

lands i walked in physical form not

the end but the continuing

as my presence is

transformed

whisked

away

by

trade winds

riding currents

through time and space

over mountains valleys oceans

until i find my resting

place i will return

to that from

which i

came

as i meld

with the infinite

separating from what i

once perceived as me settling

ashes in the earth so i

can nourish thee

*********

soul

unbound

by flesh and bone

soaring skies of brilliant

splendor clouds gently carry me

into the onward places

i’ll be reminded i

remember

whispering light

sparkling shifts calling

out to me wondrous shimmers

of endless magic my human eyes forgot

to see the beauty of the beyond

with no limits for my soul

consciousness

unbound the

infinite

to

b

e

h

o

l

d

*

*

*

*

*

____________________________

Written with a friend in mind– gone too soon.

surreal poetry
24

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • kayra kılıç9 months ago

    really impressive !

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Kristen, the song before the poem was such a great touch. It really set the mood and gave me a sense of peace before reading, kind of like a pallet cleanser before a great meal! Very clever! Your poem painted a really beautiful picture of the journey of moving on from this life. What it might feel like to let go and be free in the last part of our existence. It was beautiful heart breaking and so expertly written! I am so sorry for your loss Kristen! 💙

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Read this after seeing it on your IG story… somehow I missed this. But I waited to comment until after my tea, so I could make some sense. 😉 I’m sorry for the loss of your friend, but grateful you channeled that grief into art to share with us. I love the song, the words, the flow, the way the shape of the poem is like a flock of birds in flight. I think death is like that too, and we are not alone on the other side. My favorite part: “soul unbound by flesh and bone soaring skies of brilliant splendor clouds gently carry me into the onward places i’ll be reminded i remember“ 🥹

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Oh...speechless. This is bloody beautiful and now I feel a mixture of sad and happy. Well done, Kristen - this is potentially one of your best. Honestly. And that music...pairs so nicely with your wonderful words.

  • Moe Radosevich10 months ago

    Wow, hearted, subscribed, and applauding 😊😊, touched me personally, I too had a too soon loss, 🥲

  • Gosh Kristen! You took my breath away with this poem! It was so emotional and beautiful! And that song paired so well with your poem!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    You made passing over to the next life sound so freeing and beautiful. Thanks for sharing 💛

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Beautiful, it amazing to listen to the music while reading your poem, great coupling 👌

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Ms. Kristen - What 'Sparkling'-Spectacular Insight - - You always 'Bound' me to view your latest offerings - Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California

  • C. Rommial Butler10 months ago

    The bird as psychopomp is such a deeply ingrained archetype, and an apt one too. Sol--Soul--Psyche--Mind: clear air, bright light... burning questions; the essence of human experience lies in the psyche, that which remains after all the dross falls away, perhaps the only aspect of us that can truly be said to ascend. Earth grounds, water finds its level, fire aspires... air rises. You explored these themes, in your own words and way, to perfection here. Thank you.

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    Super!!! Excellent

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Soaring high! ☺️ I loved this: structure, mood, message, personal, but for everyone! Great choice of music too! So sorry to hear about your friend passing. Thanks so much for sharing Kristin !

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Mystical and expansive, I love the form in such waves of words. Beautiful!

  • I love the way this undulates in form, as though caught up & drifting in the breezes before finally coming to rest. Intimations not only of the ongoing journey of spirit beyond your friend's death, but also of one's own heart & soul as we grieve their passing. Amazing work, Kristen, both visually or verbally.

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Magnificent! (Only word needed) ❤️

  • Joelle E🌙10 months ago

    Unbelievable!

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    My god, this is beautifully done. I loved the flow and the format. Just wonderful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.