Poets logo

Two Steps

Sometimes going backwards is going forward.

By Kayton HickenlooperPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I've always felt invisible

Like I am a ghost

Walking through this life

Without ever getting noticed

I could run in circles

Or wear whatever I pleased

And somehow

Nothing would change

I always felt alone

Wondering

Longing for one day to be known

I've learned to be a gentle soul

Yet we definitely have our days

Where no matter when someone tries to bring comfort

I turn into a long-needled cactus

It's not that I mean to be

I have a soft voice

But underestimated

You can hear a roar that is louder than lions

Things have changed now

I feel like I am seen just a little bit more

I realized that I'm never alone

Even if no one is around

And solitude became a friend

Closer to any friend that I have ever met

Maybe that's what happens

After a heart has been torn

It's not sad anymore

Maybe a little more humble

A little more accepting

Where patience runs through the veins

And in the shattered pieces

There is now a glow

Some days I think its insanity

But today my soul tells me no

That this moment

I am where I am supposed to be

art
Like

About the Creator

Kayton Hickenlooper

I write to clear my mind. To get out of the fog of daily confusion. An artist by heart. To live, laugh, and grow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.