Poets logo

Two Sonnets

One Soul

By Rohini SunderamPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

The first…

How can I be but a single colour?

When throughout the lively mutable day

I move towards a wounded indigo

From the dawn’s pale-death shade of grey?

I burn to a bright, unabashed sky-blue

In the searing heat of a noon-yellow sun.

But if cool white clouds should deign to arrive

And cover me over just for some fun…

I may, I may, on such a fair, fine day

Spread out all my leaves, my hair, and my limbs,

Turn all the greens of my life inside-out

And commit that one, great cardinal sin:

Of bursting forth in a rainbow of hours

For I am a garden, I must have flowers.

The second…

And so am I, a woman and mother

I love all my children, whoever they are

Whether they stay or whether they leave

Whatever colour they say they are.

They’re black as the seeds in a sunflower’s heart

They’re pink as the roses that blush with dew

Yellow as dandelions, those cheeky weeds

So good for us all… only Nature knew.

Bluebells and irises, tulips, and asters

Rainbow colours and green grasses too

Flowers and weeds, whether children or trees

Whatever their colours whatever their hue.

They were born in my garden, and I know their worth

They are all my children, and I am Mother Earth.

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Rohini Sunderam

Rohini Sunderam, a Canadian of Indian origin who calls both Halifax, NS and Bahrain, home, is a semi-retired advertising copywriter. Her stories and poems have appeared in several international anthologies and online magazines.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.