Poets logo

Twitter, Musk, and Trump

Haiku on recent developments

By Lana V LynxPublished about a year ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
Top Story - November 2022
25
Cartoon by Alesha Stupin, Russian political cartoonist

I was inspired by the High-Ku challenge to write about one of the most important developments in the social media world, i.e. Musk's takeover of Twitter and his desperate attempts to attract more eyeballs to the platform and stop exodus of advertisers and reputable news organizations. So here are my haiku verses on Twitter's demise and impending death:

***

Twitter, best news app

Musk brought back Trump's vile account

I deleted mine.

***

Best for breaking news,

Twitter sold to Musk for billions

Millions have left it.

***

"Let that sink in!" he said,

Then fired engineers and staff.

Musk killed Twitter.

***

"People have spoken!" Musk said,

Brought back Trump's putrid page.

People voted, leaving.

***

"I'll buy it!" Musk said

of Twitter, a toy for his ego.

Bought and broke it.

***

"I'll buy it!" he said,

"But not with my own money."

Tesla shares went down.

***

Thanks to Quick Edit button, I can add to this saga as new developments unfold. The haiku below were added after the original publication.

***

"Please stay, please don't leave!"

Musk begged advertisers.

Exodus goes on.

***

For sale on Twitter

Three colored checks: Gold, gray, blue

Bankruptcy's looming.

***

"I'll fix it!" Musk said

of Twitter he broke; then brought

His bros, "You fix it!"

***

"I'll step down as Chief!"

Mask said as Tesla stock fell;

Tesla's still dropping.

***

"Found no successor!"

Musk said, trapped as Twitter Chief.

Tesla is dying.

***

“Still no successor!”

Chief Twit said, “I’ll do it all!”

Twitter is dying.

***

"He's the worst!" Musk said

Of fired disabled designer

Tesla stock plummeted.

The twit about Halli Musk deleted in fear of litigation

***

“It’s all good!” he said

As Twitter source code was hacked.

Musk’s still killing it.

***

"It's worth less!" Musk said.

Twitter's twenty billion now,

Bought for forty-four.

***

"It will make money

eventually," Musk said.

"For now, it's my toy."

***

"I was FORCED to buy,"

Musk said of dying Twitter.

"Now I wanna sell."

***

"They must pay!" Musk said,

Removed old Twitter blue checks;

Can't see my people.

***

"It all went south fast,"

Dorsey said of Chief Twit Musk

"We'll build Bluesky soon!"

***

"I've found her!" Musk said

of new Twitter Chief, adding

"Won't wash my hands off!"

***

“I’ll launch it!” Musk said

Of Ron’s presidential bid.

T’was a disaster.

***

"I'm all for free speech!"

Musk said, closing accounts of

Erdogan's rivals.

***

"Let's fight!" Elon said

To Mark, who met the challenge.

Musk's mom called it off.

***

"New logo!" Musk said,

"It'll be X forever!"

He has axed Twitter.

***

One year after sale,

Twitter is worth four billion.

Musk paid forty-four.

***

“Go f*** yourself!” Mask said

To advertisers fleeing X

From his racist posts.

***

“I won’t answer you!”

Musk told Don Lemon ‘bout Jews.

“Contract is cancelled.”

by Alesha Stupin

sad poetrysocial commentary
25

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    Dear Lana ~ HaPpy New Year ~ You've inspired me ~ I've learned so much from you this year ~  - Just because I'm not into Contests Doesn't mean I don't enjoy your many eclectic offerings. Just As: - Just because you like Vodka Doesn't mean you like Putin. - Just because you don't like Bagels/with Lox Doesn't make you Anti-Semitic - Just because you are not a big fan of Tattoo 'Art' slathered all over Doesn't make you Hate 'ART' - Just because you don't like Rap Music Doesn't make you a 'Racist' - And, just because you are only a Lawyer Doesn't make you totally ~ il - "Lit"- er - ate ~ ~ Some people just like You for You ~  - Always with my Respect - Just ~ Me ~ Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • GeekyOwen8 months ago

    Haha! Loved it!

  • Musk is a lucky privileged tw@ ,a disgusting individual, trouble is it is still one of Vocal's default shares and Threads isn't

  • Sannaabout a year ago

    Really enjoyed this!

  • I'm still on Twitter but a great Haiku and congrats on yout Top Story, and you have a subscription from me

  • Tracy Willisabout a year ago

    Why am inso obsessed with these? Love it! ❤️

  • Gina B.about a year ago

    These haikus pair perfectly with the political cartoons. I love reading poems in this style as a collection. Short but impactful!

  • Blake O'Connorabout a year ago

    Musk’s fame will dissolve like dusk. Great hi-ku collection

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Wonderful haikus. The images are hilarious!

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    I like! Good article

  • Christian Leeabout a year ago

    Quite the litany of haiku's'. I enjoyed reading this, especially seeing the haiku form characterized by satire. And taking into account historical events that impact the social and internet world. Excellent. Subscribing to you. Will read more of you soon. Great read. :)

  • Sara Jane Triglia about a year ago

    Your haikus have 8 syllables on the second line. I thought haikus had to be 5/7/5?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.