Poets logo

Twisted plot

Hard love

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Twisted plot
Photo by Sam Burriss on Unsplash

I am secretly scared that our relationship won’t work…

I’m fighting for happiness but depression got to me first.

I prayed for better days but those days only got worse.

I hope you understand that it’s not the physical damage that hurts.

Every bit of pain I felt was blown like a kiss from your lips.

Yeah ill admit, after everything that you said and did caused me to have a few slips..

I just wanna move on but the past is too hard to forget.

There is a part of me that wishes that I never met you because maybe then I wouldn’t feel a life of regret.

But that other part of me says I can never let you go..

I’m constantly in debt, I wish you would just pull the glass out of this brunette..

“Just go kill yourself!”

“Just go cut yourself again”

“Just go do more drugs!”

“Just like your fucking mom, not gonna be nothing but a piece of shit mom!”

I can continue the lines of hurtful things you say to hurt me.

Words can’t describe how I felt this agony..

Sometimes I still feel like walking off a balcony..

And you’re the main person gassing me.

For these reasons are why I miss my staggery..

Not the high, but the numbness..

I’m living a life completely sunless.

I would’ve been gone a long time ago if the little ones weren’t among this. .

A heart that poured out.. now it’s bloodless..

Hiding things from you is a result of me entrusting those who betrayed my trust.

It’s hard to trust you when I know your sus.

I hate that I love you and I can’t say that enough.

I wish we could play it back and fix us.

But please see that you crossed me more then I’ve cut.

One day you’ll tell me for the last time, then you can dump my ashes and flush.

So why do I love you so much..

Please help me understand, I’m tired of my heart and dreams being crushed..

I’m up one day, and the next not so much..

Fuck I’m sorry that I had you feeling like I do for once.

I only wanted to be loved.

But this love turns to dust..

As it falls through my fingers I just helplessly watch.

But still I pick them up, and push them back inside my chest,

The peices to this puzzle don’t fit with the rest,

I’ve been getting the worst but I only prayed for the best..

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.